h1

i heart gray

July 22, 2009

I love the color gray. I use it constantly in my graphic design work. It is my go to color. It always manages to look modern and classic at the same time. So what was I thinking when I painted our living room yellow? I guess I hoped with the lack of natural light (there is a gorgeous old tree in front of our house that steals it all,) that the yellow would brighten up the space. Well, I am officially over it. I can’t look at it any more.

swatches

I painted some color swatches because I have heard that gray is an easy color to get wrong. I wanted to find the perfect shade. And I am really glad I took that extra step because I ended up loving the shade that seemed the least impressive at the store. I am so happy they started selling those tester size cans of paint! So now the big question is how am I going to find the time for this painting project with this guy around?

Jasper peek-a-boo

2 comments

  1. Oh Oh Oh, you can do this. I have done it at least a dozen times with my two. (I tend to paint a lot) The second coat of paint is easy, as you do it during his nap time in the afternoon. Its the first coat that is tricky. I have done it a)before they wake in the morning b) while they watch a new/fun movie and play with play dough at the same time (keeps them in sitting relatively still) or c) create a new game to distract them for hours. Last time I took our end table cubes and turned them into a tunnel to crawl threw, then it became a ship…. you get the point! Have fun!!


  2. […] 80’s jewelry box make me pretty – my own living room March 3, 2010 My very first blog post was about my house – about wanting to re-paint my living room. After years of renting, and […]



Leave a Reply

