h1

make me pretty – before and after alley chair

August 13, 2009

I found the subject for my next furniture makeover sitting next to a trash can in an alley near my house. Ya, I’m not above dumpster diving – especially when someone is throwing away solid wood furniture with serious cute potential. This chair was very unloved. At some point someone had tried to make it pretty with new fabric on the seat. Maybe sometime in the sixties, I am guessing by the fabric. Under that was the original seat fabric which started to disintegrate as I pulled it off.

UglyAlleyChair

Frankie, the pug, wondered why I was taking a picture of this ugly chair instead of his adorable face, so he snuck in the photo!

I really wanted to bring out the detail on the chair back so after sanding and priming (I hate that part) I painted it blue and distressed it bring out the dark brown underneath. I almost don’t want to sell this one!

BlueChari

BlueChairBack

BLueChairJasper

Jasper approves – although these days he would rather climb the chair than sit still in it!

Leave a Reply

