h1

make me pretty – antique chair

September 7, 2009

I walked past this chair so many times at the thrift store. It wasn’t until I decided to start my Etsy store that I really took a close look. Man, I am glad that I did! Once you get past the blah fabric and boring brown there is a gorgeous chair underneath.
ChairOriginal

When I removed the seat to take off the fabric I discovered a bunch of old springs underneath. Neat! I wonder how old this chair is? I painted the chair a creamy off-white and covered the seat in some of my favorite Amy Butler fabric. I had planned on distressing the chair but I changed my mind once I saw it painted. It is just perfect the way it is. It is so clean, almost beachy feeling! love!

WhiteChair2WhiteChair4

3 comments

  1. Fabulous!!! Was it hard to get the seat off? Did you just staple gun the AB fabric to the bottom?


    • It was really easy to get the seat off. Just four screws. Getting the old fabric off is tedious, but not hard. You have to remove a bunch of staples. I also replaced the padding, because the old stuff starts to smell musty. You can get batting at any fabric store – you can use the same stuff they use for quilts, just fold it over a couple times till you get the desired thickness. Then just staple on your new fabric. It is kind of addictive. I have changed the fabric on our dinning room chairs twice now just because I was bored. I always buy an extra piece of fabric and store it away so if jasper colors on it I won’t have to loose my mind – I can just replace it!


  2. The chair is wonderful!!!



Leave a Reply

