h1

make me pretty – deer damask chair

October 6, 2009

Before I worked my magic this might have been one of the ugliest chairs I had ever seen. It even had the signature cigarette burn on the cushion. But it had one thing going for it – the fabric showing through the back – very cool. This chair needed a new beautiful, interesting fabric – Joel Dewberry Antler Damask – oh yeah.

So, I thought I would show you step by step how I complete one of my furniture pieces. Here is the before.

DeerChair1DeerChair2

I like to do the upholstery first – it is instant gratification, paint takes a while. I use a flat head screw driver and pliers to remove all of the staples. This fabric made me sneeze like crazy. I don’t even want to know what kind of dirt and dust was hiding in there – yuck!

DeerChair4

Next, I cut the new fabric and staple it on. This chair had foam padding but if there is batting, I always replace that too.

DeerChair5

The sanding is my least favorite part but hey, I’m building arm muscles, right?

DeerChair6

I paint the chair with one coat of primer and then two to three coats of paint.

DeerChair7

I decided to paint a thin cinnamon red line around the chair to add something interesting and accent the fabric color.

And the finished project…

DeerChair1

DeerChair3

A Ukranian magazine contacted me about showing a step-by-step of one of my furniture pieces. I’m not getting paid but they are going to send me a copy of the magazine. I think it is kind of cool but I’m kind of a nerd!

Here is a spread from the magazine – I will post a picture of my piece in the magazine when I get it!

Ukrain-Magazine

PS – The chair is for sale – find it at my Etsy store.

4 comments

  1. karen! this chair is AMAZING. i think it’s your finest piece yet. and that fabric…wow!


    • thanks, rachel. that’s super sweet!


  2. LOVE, LOVE this chair!


  3. […] chair they featured might look familiar – I finished it a couple of months back and it has traveled to some craft shows with […]



Leave a Reply

