h1

make me pretty – a new years worth of projects

January 3, 2010

Oh my goodness. I have so much work to do. I have been accumulating furniture at a frightening pace and haven’t worked on anything in almost a month. I thought I would give myself a little break for the holidays but now it is time to get to work. I thought you might like a little preview of all my upcoming projects.

Here we go:

vintage kids table

This is the my next project. I love the lines of this 60s/70s kids table and chairs. I have this one all planned out already. I’ll give you a hint – it involves elephants!

black cabinet

This was an alley find. Thanks neighbors for throwing away cool stuff!

curvy end table

coffee table

I know you can barely see this coffee table through all the crap in my garage but it is pretty cute. Found it at a yard sale this past summer for $10. This one has me stumped. I just can’t figure out what I want to do with it.

desk

I think I will work on this one after the kids table. You can’t really see it but this desk has some great carved details. My awesome neighbor Bill put in new drawer slides for me. This one is going to be really nice when it is done.

oval table

Frankie wanted to make sure he made it into this post! This cool table was part of a trade. I love the metal base. Anyone have any idea what kind of wood that is?

red table

Another yard sale find. I plan on changing the paint color and putting fabric on the top – similar to the gray table with the Amy Butler Green and Gray flower fabric I did last year.

This one’s not really talking to me yet either. Oh well, I have plenty to keep me busy until I figure it out!

kids rocking chair

Another Frankie appearance! I showed this rocking chair to my mother-in-law and she said she would never have looked twice at it in the thrift store. This is where you have to use your imagination. I know it is really ugly but imagine it painted a cool color with new cushions in some hip, flowery fabric. It would be adorable in a little girls room!

white table with drawer

Alley find! A neighbor of mine, with really good taste, filled the alley with beautiful things on Thanksgiving day and I literally filled up my car. She was moving – I got lucky. This is one of the tables I scored for free!!

white table

dinning set

Last but not least. A very, very nice twitter friend gave me this dinning room set. It includes four of these chairs, two chairs with arms, and a table with two inserts. This is going to take forever but I am going to make it awesome. I need to refinish the wood and I want to find the perfect fabric because what is on there now is not doing these gorgeous Danish modern chairs justice!

5 comments

  1. welcome back! I am in lovelove with the white coffee table. can’t wait to see what he becomes!


  2. that ‘white table’ (2nd to last) is just crying out for some high gloss black paint and a piece of glass inset on the top… a really deco BAR TABLE. Great finds!


    • i like that idea. i might have to find a good dark wallpaper along those lines to put on the table top, under the glass. thanks for the help!


  3. Fantastic! What great finds! I can’t wait to see what you do with everything this year!


  4. What did you use to adhere the fabric to the top of the table?



Leave a Reply

