h1

salvage yard heaven

January 27, 2010

Last weekend I got to go to one of my favorite places – the salvage yard. It’s got all of the things I love: 1. old things 2. piles of stuff i have to sift through to find the treasure 3. tons of inspiration. From the moment I heard of this salvage yard in Mechanicsville I was re-arranging my schedule to make a trip out there. Luckily, my friend @meghan_e was up for the adventure!

Governor’s Antiques did not disappoint. I was expecting the old front doors, and metal railings, and piles of claw-foot tubs. I had no idea there would be an indoor warehouse with case after case of beautiful, and sparkling things that I wanted to take home with me.

Governor’s has over 20,000 square feet of antiques and collectibles and over 1,000,000 items for sale. It is all a little overwhelming!

Good thing Jasper didn’t come with me. He would have gone nuts for all the old toys – trains, cars, trucks and planes – his favorites!

These stools where my absolute favorite thing I saw that day. That color green with the wood and the shape is so cool. I couldn’t even bring myself to ask how much they cost – I wanted them all so bad!

I want to label everything in my house with a brass plaque now!

@meghan_e fell in love with this chandelier. The picture really doesn’t do it justice. It was a huge orb of glitter and color!

My one complaint with Governor’s was the prices – holy cow! You know I’m a bargain hunter and there are no deals here. But not only that – the prices are really high. The only thing I can imagine is that they price everything so high because they know you are going to try and talk them down. It was worth the trip – very inspiring, but if I’m going to shop I am going to go to S.B. Cox. Ya, it’s not very organized. You have to dig through stuff and you might get a little dusty but their prices are fair and I’ve had negotiations end there with a coin toss – which is fun!

7 comments

  1. Hi there, I haven’t been to Governor’s in over 25 years so I think it’s time to take a trip there and I didn’t know about S.B. Cox and I will definitely being going there. So nice to meet a fellow junker near by. Come for a visit. Hope we don’t get all the snow they are calling for in the Richmond area this weekend. ~ Lynn


    • Hi Lynn. Do you have a storefront in town?


  2. Ive always wondered about this place. How do they make any money? They have a ton of people working there too. Seems shady to me.


    • They mention in their brochure that they work with a lot of Richmond restaurants, like the Tobacco Company. But I agree, it would be interesting to know who they are doing business with.


  3. Wow, I didn’t know about either of these places. I’ve only been to Caravatis. Can’t wait to try them out. Thanks!


    • I love S.B. Cox, but seriously, be prepared. Make sure you wear serious shoes, maybe even boots. It is no where near as organized as Caravatis but it is fun to go digging around!


  4. Wow what an amazing set of finds! I love the detail in the Chandlier,what was the price on that piece of awesomeness? The next time I travel to Virginia I will have to check out that place

    Andrew



Leave a Reply

