h1

make make me pretty – black art deco table

February 4, 2010

Snow storms are good for sledding, hot chocolate and craft projects! While my little snow bunny was having outdoor adventures with his daddy, I was happy to sit in my warm house and finish this little table.

This table is one I scored from a moving neighbor a couple months back.

white table

After I sanded the heck out of it I was tempted to leave it as is. There is a part of me that is into super distressed shabby chic. But alas, this table had another future in store.

I decided to take the advice of Sarah, from La Diff: “that white table is just crying out for some high gloss black paint and a piece of glass inset on the top… a really deco BAR TABLE.”

I used some super shiny black lacquer paint. But I wanted to give the table a little extra decoration so I got a piece of fabric that I thought would blend in nicely on the table top.

I think this table turned out super classy and I am really glad I didn’t leave it super shabby chic! Thanks for the great advice Sarah!

Leave a Reply

