h1

make me pretty – girly little rocking chair

February 9, 2010

I think most people would have walked past this little rocking chair at the thrift store but I was so excited to take it home and rip off that hideous fabric and start over!

kids rocking chair

This project involved a little more sewing than I usually like to get involved with but I think it was worth it. I had two coordinating Amy Butler fabrics I was excited to use. I wanted the chair to be cute and girly but not super pink flowery. I picked a yellow paint to highlight the yellow in the fabric and got to work.

I know I probably should have taken a picture with some kind of cute teddy bear but we are Yo Gabba Gabba fans around here!

So tell me what you think. Is the yellow too crazy?

If you know a little princess this would be perfect for check it out on etsy.

7 comments

  1. OMG. I love it! Couldn’t wait to see what you were gonna do with this ratty chair. Definitely surpassed my expectations. You rock!


  2. Muno looks totally happy with it. Way to go!


  3. I had this rocker when I was little, my padding was like this but more brown colors. I loved it!!
    I was born in 1966 and I had it when I was 2 or 3, so it is pretty old.


    • wow! that is so cool!


  4. I LOVE this! I want one!!!


  5. I am working on the same style chair only a rocker. Can you tell me how you cut the cushion around the arms?


  6. I have nearly the same exact rocker in my craft room right now just waiting for me to make it pretty again. It was mine when i was 2, a gift from my grandfather, and i got it back about 2 years ago…so its almost 35 years old. Same cushions and skirt, just brown colors. I now know i want to make it my goddaughters chair for her christmas present. Do you have instructions on how you prettied your chair? I would appreciate it so much.
    Thank you!



Leave a Reply

