h1

make me pretty – curvy little table

March 24, 2010

There were two things I wanted to try on this little table – a stencil and extreme distress. I wanted it to look old and worn out – like it had lived a life. Here is the before.

curvy end table

So after the usual sanding and priming I painted the whole thing gray. Then I used a stencil from this awesome book, Stencil 101 Decor, to make a pattern with a pale lilac paint on the top of the table. I also painted the knob, and the inside of the drawer, the same purple color.

The purple turned out a little pink when it was over top of the gray, so I decided to paint the whole thing with a black leather glaze from sunny good time that I had scored for $2 at the Habitat for Humanity Re-Store! I applied a thin coat and then wiped most of it off with an old towel. Then I went I crazy with the sand paper.

I know it is not my usual cheerful fabrics and light colors, but I am happy with the way it turned out. My next project will be super happy colorful so look for that next week!

One comment

  1. I love this little table! So charming!

    -Cara



Leave a Reply

