h1

make me pretty – vintage stool

September 15, 2010

Oh yard sale season – how I love you. No where else can you find these kind of deals. I love my thrift stores but they know what they have and they price it that way. I fell in love with the cute wide short shape of this little bench and it is built so solid. If you can get around the stain on the seat (I don’t even want to know) this chair has some serious cute potential.

I have been reading these amazing furniture re-finishing tutorials on design*sponge and I thought that this would be the perfect opportunity to try a new technique. So after I painted this stool with a pretty blue green and distressed it, I covered the whole thing with a brown stain. I know it seems strange to put stain over paint but it gave it this pretty aged look – I love the way it turned out!

It’s been a while since I really fell in love with one of my pieces but I am totally crushing out on this one! As much as I would love to keep it I just don’t have the room for it in my house. So I am super excited to announce that you will be able to find this stool, as well as many of my other pieces at Blue Elephant – a super cute new store on Strawberry Street in RVA. They cary work from local artists, cool furniture and all kinds of vintage housewares.

So if you live in Richmond, please go show Blue Elephant your support. I don’t think you will be disappointed – It’s worth the trip just to see the amazing light fixture they have hanging in the front room!

3 comments

  1. lovely makeover! that stool looks amazing.


  2. Loving this makeover! I’ll definitely have to check out those tutorials on d*s…


  3. […] boring if I keep repeating myself but I had to do this one piece over. You might remember this vintage stool I re-did a few months back. I really loved the way it turned out and when I found this cute chair […]



Leave a Reply

