h1

there’s a new craft store in town!

January 18, 2011

Welcome to the Hobby Lobby! Part kitschy nick-nack hell part crafty heaven. This store has something for everyone. I was amazed by the aisles and aisles of craft supplies – there were three aisles just for stickers! And they carry pretty obscure supplies that usually require a trip to specialty store – soap stone carving, anyone? They also had stained glass supplies and doll house kits and furniture! You can find everything you would expect from your average craft store – fake flowers, scrapbooking stuff and paints. But they also have fabric, drawer pulls, and home decor.

I am excited because it is a one stop shop for me. I can pick up paint, fabric, drawer pulls and mod podge all in one spot and it’s across the street from Trader Joe’s. Short Pump here I come.

There prices seemed pretty reasonable, not fantastic, but the sale prices were awesome! The day I went all drawer pulls were 50% off. And most of their fabrics were 30% off. I got a yard of fabric for under $5 – love it!

cute ribbon - $1 each!

The home decor section was not really my style but the yard ornament aisle gave me a good laugh. If you are into gnomes, frogs or turtles this is your store!

The Hobby Lobby also has an excellent selection of “man crafts” – model cars, science experiments and army men. I was happy I didn’t have Jasper with me because they have a million things that a toddler, or any age kid, would love. Glittery paper, plastic animals and coloring books.

So if you are at all crafty – I recommend you go check it out. But don’t go on Sunday because they are closed!

Hobby Lobby is located at 11280 West Broad Street, Glen Allen, VA 23060.

One comment

  1. Word on the music message boards has always been that Hobby Lobby has good prices on poster framing. Can’t wait to check it out!



Leave a Reply

