h1

make me pretty – the 2nd dresser

January 26, 2011

Time for dresser number 2! If you haven’t seen the first re-do you can find it here!

I had two identical dressers and decided to see how different I could make their looks. Here is the before picture:

And my second version of the dresser after:

I painted the dresser cream and attached a fun graphic pattern fabric on the drawers. I completed the look with pretty frosted glass drawer pulls.

And, of course, I had to paint the inside of the drawers a fun color!

So which version do you like better? Let me know in the comments!

12 comments

  1. I like the second one better, but that’s probably because I’m a fan of bright, fun colors!


  2. 2 2 2!!! its so fun!


  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Meghan, Karen Guard. Karen Guard said: new blog post – one dresser two ways, part 2! which version do you like better? http://tinyurl.com/45q5323 […]


  4. i love the 2nd one as well! The bright colored fabric is a nice pop of color! I LOVE IT!


  5. I also like the second one better, but they’re both great! I really like how you used just one centered drawer pull on each drawer in both redos. You do beautiful work!


  6. I love the second one! While the first one is great, and definitely more “grown-up”, the second is an excellent example (and source of inspiration!) of how ugly, forgotten thrift-store furniture can transform. The new piece is wonderful, and unrecognizable!


  7. I love this! How do you apply the fabric?


    • I put mod podge for furniture on the drawer and then smooth the fabric on. Then I put two of mod podge on top and then cover the whole drawer face with a water based polyurethane.


  8. I ADORE this!!! It’s just perfect! So glad I found your blog!!!


  9. I love them both, but the second gets my vote. Love, love, love it!! I am going to try this with a bi-level mid-century coffee table. Do you think the same process will work for that??


  10. I love the white dresser with the color fabric…its the best version.. =)


  11. […] Sweet Dresser […]



Leave a Reply

