h1

make me pretty, umm, i mean handsome!

February 11, 2011

Whenever I show my husband one of my completed furniture pieces he says “Oh, it’s for a girl.” Well, I guess most of them are. I mean, I am a girl – that’s one thing. And I am very inspired by fabric, which I think is mostly designed for girls. Also, lets face it, most guys don’t really care that much about furniture.

But for all of the guys out there who are into design and for all the ladies that just aren’t really into super girly things (which is actually me, too!) this one is for you!

This was a Craigslist find (thanks Jason!) that appears to be a handmade, solid wood table. I liked the simple, clean design with the little curves on the sides to add some interest. I thought this would be the perfect piece for this pretty, graphic, almost hand-drawn fabric I found at Ufab.

Here is the before:

And after:

8 comments

  1. I LOVE THAT!!! It’s so beautiful…I mean handsome 😉 Great job! You are so talented!


  2. Wow, I love that! I also love UFab. And I’m so impressed with your fabric-on-wood skills! It intimidates me to no end. But seriously–I love this table!


  3. yeah! feedback! thanks so much for leaving comments – i love it!! and you all can totally do the fabric on wood thing too. you just have to be good friends with your xacto knife and mod podge and have lots of patients!


  4. Love it! Where did you get the pull?

    We picked up fabric from Ufab for a small project using embroidery hoops (from http://www.purlbee.com/swatch-portraits/) and may have them reupholster a teak chair we got at a yard sale.


    • i got the pull from hobby lobby. i went on a day when their whole aisle of drawer pulls were 50% off – awesome! but they are pretty affordable even when not on sale. also, anthropology has beautiful pulls and you can often times find them in the clearance section!


  5. Love this one!


  6. I have been meaning to tell you how much I like that sunny golden orange on the inside of the drawer. It’s such a sassy touch to a very gentlemanly piece. Kinda like wearing orange underpants under a gray suit!


    • oh my goodness! i love that visual! i want all my pieces to wear orange underpants.



Leave a Reply

