h1

make me pretty – butterfly table

February 22, 2011

When I found this cute little table I decided to just paint it and distress it – no fabric! I just thought I should switch things up a little bit. Well I ended up switching things up a lot and doing something really different.

I started by painting the whole table a pale green. I was about to start distressing it when I noticed some uneven parts on the table top. This was going to drive me crazy! I had to sand the table top again and paint it again.

When I finished sanding, the table top was bare wood and the rest of the table was pale green paint. I couldn’t stand the idea of painting the top again. I loved the contrast. But I thought it needed something else – time to bust out the stencils!

So I painted the butterflies on and covered the whole thing with a coat of stain. I don’t know – it’s kind of crazy but I like it. What do you think?

2 comments

  1. I think it’s fabulous! I love the wood grain showing through–you know how “in” wood grain is right now anyway, and yours isn’t even faux!


  2. […] Octopus trying to make things a little prettier « make me pretty – butterfly table make me pretty – chain link love March 7, […]



Leave a Reply

