h1

open house art party

May 20, 2011

Thanks to everyone who made it over last Saturday. It was super fun to meet a lot of you that I have only known online. For those of you who couldn’t make it – here is a little peak at what you missed.

I completely emptied out my living room and turned it into a gallery for a day. I enlisted my neighbor and friend, Doug Thompson, a fabulous painter, to go in on the party with me. And thank goodness. I think our work combined made a much bigger impact than either of us could have had alone.

My wonderful husband not only put up with all of my manic crazyness leading up to the event. He also cooked all of the food for the party. With items like deconstructed roasted garlic white bean dip and homemade BBQ kale chips, the kitchen was the place to be. The watermelon agua fresca was a huge hit, as well as the horchata. Oh, and lets not forget the grilled ramen demonstration which was the main ingredient in the banh mi cabbage rolls.

One more food note, Heidi, the cupcakes rocked. Everyone was begging me for the leftovers!


Poor Emerson had caught his brothers cold and was running a fever all day but he was such a good sport! Thank goodness for the baby bjorn!

Overall I think the party was a success. Doug and I both sold some pieces, we met some new people and got our names out there. Will I be having another art party? Maybe in 6 months. It was a lot of work but I love the idea of teaming up with other artists, maybe getting some live music? Got any ideas?

PS – A big thank you to my friend Leslie and her friends who helped me pull out all my furniture from the basement while I was holding a sleeping baby. You are the best!

4 comments

  1. Congrats on the success of the party. Those Kale chips were delicious, as was all the art and lovely furniture!


  2. The party was great. I’m so glad it was successful. I posted about it on my blog, if you have a chance to check it out.


  3. Your open house set-up looks great! I am sorry I was not able to come by. Any chance your husband would share some recipes? It all sounds so delicious!


  4. Everything looks great! I will keep an eye out for your next party. I’ll be living in the area in a couple of weeks.



Leave a Reply

