h1

make me pretty – turquoise & red, a lovely color combo

June 26, 2011

20110626-074018.jpg

I found this strange mini dresser? large jewelry chest? at a yard sale and thought it would be fun to paint. I thought it was missing a knob but was happily to find it in one of the drawers when I got home. But unhappily I found that one of the drawers was missing the back wood piece. So I had to cut and attach a new wood piece before I got started with the fun part – sanding and painting.

I have been wanting to paint something with a turquoise, white and red color combo. The colors of this dresser inspired me (find the tutorial for it here if you are into it!)

photo from design sponge

So I painted my piece turquoise – I got some of those little paint sample jars at Home Depot. They are totally big enough for a small project so save yourself some money! Then I used a stencil from Lotta Jansdotter to add some red flowers. If you don’t know Lotta you should check her out – I love her style!

Finally, here is my after:

20110626-074103.jpg

20110626-074117.jpg

20110626-074149.jpg

20110626-074229.jpg

2 comments

  1. Love this! That’s my favorite color combo too. I just did an old wicker storage chest turquoise with red hardware and am making a padded bench seat for it with an old silk floral scarf that I rescued from my mom’s Goodwill pile in the same color family.


  2. you should send me a picture when you are done. i would love to see it. i got some really cute red and white drawer pulls at ikea the other day so i’m pretty sure you will be seeing this color combo again!



Leave a Reply

