h1

make me pretty – kung fu stool

August 22, 2011

I bought this little stool about a million years ago (ok, more like two) when I first decided to start re-doing furniture to sell. But it just sat in my garage because it was kind of wobbly and it had this broken caned seat. I even tried to give it away at a “stuff swap” party but nobody took my sad little stool. I was getting ready to put it in the alley for someone to discover when I had a change of heart. I needed to make this guy over!

20110822-053358.jpg

I wanted to find a creative solution to a new seat. What could a stretch around this little stool? Old seat belts? Some kind of leather strips? Karate belts? Yes! I stumbled across a bag of multi-color Karate belts at the thrift store and I was so happy I had hung on to this little stool. This was going to be fun.

I gave her a new paint job and got to it. I stapled down the belts on the thick side of the wood and nailed in little u shaped brackets on the circular rods. I think it is super happy looking now. I hope no martial arts people are offended!

20110822-053417.jpg

20110822-053439.jpg

20110822-053458.jpg

20110822-053507.jpg

20110822-053544.jpg

2 comments

  1. I am a martial arts instructor and school owner and I absolutely love this. I have huge duffle bags of old belts I can’t part with. Now I can put them to a creative use. I was looking for a way to recreate seating for a metal swing that the cushions wore out…I now have my new “web” seats! I’ll modify this a bit but will make it work. Thank you so much!


    • oh yeah! i love it. you should send me a picture when you are done!



Leave a Reply

