h1

make me pretty – mid century modern bench

November 4, 2011

This bench was a super steal at Fantastik thrift. It probably had something to do with the wild bird velvet fabric but this is one of those times where you have to use your imagination. The shape of the bench is super cute and it is incredibly sturdy – it just needs some new fabric and a little love!

So my first stop was my favorite fabric store, u-fab, where I fell in love with this graphic flower fabric. I somehow managed to re-do this bench with only one yard but I was cutting it pretty close. I took the bench apart and used the old fabric cover as my pattern. The tricky part for me were the buttons. I have no idea how you are suppose to attach them but I covered the bench then used a crazy homemade contraption to pierce the fabric. I taped a piece of kitchen twine on the end of sharp wood kitchen skewer and it ended up working perfectly!

Here is the finished bench. Jasper said he really wants us to keep this one but I know it wouldn’t last a week in my house with the kids. So I hope I can find it a new happy home!

One comment

  1. wow–that would look so great in my living room! nice job, K!



Leave a Reply

