h1

make me pretty – the happy cabinet

December 7, 2011

I came across this cabinet in the alley while I was taking my kids for a walk. It was kind of heartbreaking seeing it in the trash considering someone had hand painted the door. (I also get kind of upset when I see peoples artwork at the thrift store.) Of course, light houses aren’t really my thing but I could at least save the cabinet.

20111207-050830.jpg

I had to bribe Jasper to get him to give up his seat in the stroller so I could roll the cabinet home but I just can’t pass up free solid wood furniture.

At first I thought I would do a stencil on the door but then I remembered some Lotta Jansdotter paper place mats my friend Corbin had given me. I could cut one for the middle panel and I already had some yellow paint that would match perfectly!

20111207-023340.jpg

20111207-023351.jpg

20111207-023407.jpg

20111207-023420.jpg

20111207-023431.jpg

 

2 comments

  1. Hi,
    thank you so much for the post, I have recently completed my first decoupage Spiderman Table, and as it was my very first take on the decoupage craft, it was the game of hit and miss. What I did first is after stripping and painting the sides of the small end table, I have carefully cut-out pictures from Spiderman Comic Book and glued them with very thin layer of wallpaper glue on top of the table. After that I have applied another layer of wallpaper glue on top of the pictures, yet they seemed to wrinkle. I had to Google what to use for the paper pieces, and that’s how I had come across the decoupage term. I have then found recommendation of MOD clear glue and sealer for the decoupage. It worked like a treat, I have applied two layers of this glue sealer, as well as 3 layers of protective Beeswax polish. Here’s the final product, hope you like it:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/300915109506?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649


  2. […] Happy Cabinet […]



Leave a Reply

