h1

make me pretty – vintage mirror

February 23, 2012

I stumbled across this pretty mirror at the thrift store and couldn’t believe it was only $12! It was so coming home with me! Some misguided person had painted it with horrible thick, gloppy, high gloss beige paint and then added even worse blue and green highlight colors. This was not a job for sandpaper alone. I had to bust out stripper. I scraped and I brushed with a wire brush and then I decided to just leave it. I love the weathered look – paint layers, natural wood. I also put a light blue glaze over it – just to add another layer.

Here is the before:

And after:

I found this cool stamp on the back of the mirrors. This mirror was made two years after our house was built – super cool!

Sorry these aren’t the prettiest picture. It is really hard to take a picture of a mirror (can you see me in the first picture?) and the mirror is in my basement so there is no natural light!

One comment

  1. What a great find – it looks fabulous after you’ve cleaned it up!
    I keep hoping that I’ll find darling things in op shops (thrift shops), but alas, Australians either are too discerning to donate vintage items, or they like to turf them straight in the bin.



Leave a Reply

