h1

darling octopus and r•home magazine – may issue

April 27, 2012

My article in this months R•Home magazine is all about closet doors. I re-did these door in my basement and they might be the most elegant doors to hide a hot water heater!

We are just finishing a bathroom remodel which included a bonus closet in our master bedroom. (I use the word “master” loosely – it’s the largest bedroom in our house but come on, it didn’t even have a closet!) Anyway, at the end of the remodel, and over budget of course, we don’t really have $400 dollars, or more, for cool closet doors. So my plan is to buy the cheapest doors around and fancy them up!

I bought these hollow core doors for less than $60 for four panels at Lowes. They are hideous, I know! But they are totally flat. A blank surface for my creativity. I am thinking about wallpaper with molding around the edges. I will make sure to post a photo when I am done. Here are the doors that are inspiring me:

from S. R. Gambrel

From House Beautiful

From cococozy.com

From Houzz

From Martha Stewart Living

One comment

  1. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across
    a blog that’s equally educative and amusing, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the
    head. The problem is an issue that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy I stumvled across this in my hunt for something relating to this.



Leave a Reply

