h1

the big reveal – bathroom makeover

June 7, 2012

Our bathroom is finally done! Let me just give you a little reminder of how hideous it was before:

So we gutted the whole room, pushed part of a wall back, took out a radiator, fixed pipes, put up drywall then tile. Then I painted and painted and painted. And here is how it all turned out:

20120607-071608.jpg

20120607-071651.jpg

20120607-071726.jpg

20120607-071739.jpg

20120607-071753.jpg

I had dreamed up this chevron pattern bathtub surround after seeing this awesome picture of a wood floor on Pinterest. My friend Steve, who helped us with the renovation, helped me put it all together. We used a piece of plywood and then attached “hobby wood” (thin wood strips they sell at Lowes) in the pattern I wanted. I went to two salvage yards looking for some reclaimed wood to use but I just couldn’t find anything that was affordable and right for the project. I almost bought an old door to use instead but I am glad I went with the chevron pattern. I love how it turned out.

20120607-071804.jpg

20120607-071817.jpg

20120607-071828.jpg

20120607-071908.jpg

The hardest part of this whole project was picking out the tile. Our bathroom was so 70’s before I was terrified of picking something that would look totally dated in 5 years. I was also afraid of color after living with the avocado green and yellow for so long. So I decided to go with classic, neutral tile and add color on the walls and on the vanity – those things will be easy to re-paint when I get bored. I went to The Tile Shop to get my supplies and they were awesome. They really cater to the DIYer and even have free classes that teach you how to tile yourself. They helped me figure out how much to buy of everything and what kind of grout, etc.

20120607-071918.jpg

20120607-071926.jpg

20120607-072004.jpg

20120607-072015.jpg

I am totally in love. It is such a clean, relaxing space. The only down side, the rest of my house looks like crap in comparison!

6 comments

  1. Gorgeous! I love the hexagonal tile over the vanity and the chevrons around the tub. It’s good to know that Best Tile does free classes — we want to try to DIY a backsplash in our kitchen.


  2. mollee – i hope you see this comment. it was the tile shop, not best tile. i’m not sure why i always get those two confused. but the tile shop is where it is at! they have a bunch of helpful resources online here: http://www.tileshop.com/diy/index.aspx and the free classes in the store. i listened to part of one while i was there picking out my tile and it seemed pretty awesome.


    • Oh, thanks Karen! You know, that’s even better because I just read on Young House Love the other day that you can use the code YHL10 to get 10% off at their store. If you still have your receipt, maybe they’d adjust the price for you.


  3. WOW! Karen, I am so excited its finished! It looks superb! Job well done to you two, this is so great and I’m sure well worth the wait!


  4. Your bathroom is so lovely! Would you mind sharing the color and brand of your slate floor tiles? Thank you very much!


  5. […] down slate tile, created a raised bed garden in the backyard and planted all kinds of pretty stuff, gutted the upstairs bathroom and pushed the wall back to make it bigger, added a full size closet to the master bedroom, installed a spiral staircase to the attic which we […]



Leave a Reply

