h1

make me pretty, again – i re-do my own re-do

July 11, 2012

Whenever I talk to people about re-doing furniture I always say “Don’t be afraid to try something new. What’s the worst that can happen? It’s just paint and fabric, you can always do it again if you don’t like how it turns out.”

And honestly, most pieces I re-do I fall in love with. I almost keep most of them before I finally decide I can let them go. But every once in a while there is one that is just not quite right. So I just try to live with it for a while, until I can figure it out.

That’s what happened with this table. Here is the before:

And here she is after the first re-do:

For some reason, I could never feel right about the fabric on top. You can read more about the original re-do here.

So it sat in my basement for a long time and I wasn’t really sure what to do with it until Pinterest inspired me. I saw a picture of a table that a girl had turned into a kitchen cart and I knew what was meant to be!

I added a towel rack, casters and a chevron wood top. Now I am in love!

PS – I just opened a booth at the West End Antiques Mall (more on that soon) and you can find this lovely lady there if you want to see her in person.

Leave a Reply

