h1

make me pretty – bar cart

January 15, 2013

When I found this crazy, folding up bar cart, at the thrift store I knew I had to re-do it. I loved the shiny brass accents, the trays that came out and the odd little fold up shelves on the sides. But man, oh man, what a pain in the but. I had to take the whole thing apart to be able to  paint it without getting paint on any of the hardware.

BarCart

I decided to paint the whole thing white. I used Benjamin Moore’s Advance paint – it was developed for trim and doors and has a really hard finish. I wanted the paint on the trays to not get chipped when they are pulled in and out. I cut some fabric for the bottom of each tray and then cut plexi-glass to fit on top. That way, when you get bored, you can pop out the fabric and replace it with different fabric or paper.

20130114-202246.jpg

20130114-202323.jpg

20130114-202346.jpg

20130114-202408.jpg

20130114-202430.jpg

20130114-202458.jpg

I have been admiring a lot of bar carts on Pinterest lately. Here are some of my favorites:

From cupcakesandcashmere.com/apartment-therapy/

From cupcakesandcashmere.com/apartment-therapy/

from smallshopstudio.com/blog/page/3/

from smallshopstudio.com/blog/page/3/

2 comments

  1. HI! found your blog and was admiring your white bar cart with the geometric blue design. i see this post was from jan 2013, but wondered if it was still for sale? probably not, but just checking!
    thanks!
    katie


    • It’s long gone. Sorry!



Leave a Reply

