h1

make me pretty – my grandparent’s wardrobe

June 5, 2013

This wardrobe lived in the house my dad grew up in Pennsylvania. When it was time to sell the house and divide up the possessions, I knew this was the piece I wanted.

My house was built in the 20’s, with little built in storage, so this wardrobe would be perfect for my boys room. There was a mirror in each door but one was broken during the move and I decided it would probably be safer to find an alternative since it was going to be in a room with two little boys.

I got two pieces of plywood cut to fit the doors and covered them with some of my favorite Amy Butler fabric. I painted the wardrobe with chalk paint (I so did not feel like sanding and priming this thing!) and did a top coat of wax.

I am in love. I know I am breaking some rule about painting over old family heirloom wood furniture but I don’t care. This new version is so much better!

IMG_8655

20130605-213028.jpg

20130605-213043.jpg

20130605-213052.jpg

20130605-213102.jpg

Here is a picture of the back of the door. I used these little brackets all around the edges to hold the fabric covered plywood in place.

20130730-191230.jpg

2 comments

  1. And you’ve made a new heirloom! nice! Hope you are enjoying Matilda.


  2. Can you please show a photo of the inside of a door? I want to see how you did it. Thanks



Leave a Reply

