h1

make me pretty – the cubes

June 20, 2013

When one of my neighbors was getting ready to move she gave me these two white cube shaped end tables (Sorry I somehow lost the before picture). I knew I would do something with them but I wasn’t sure what. Every time I looked at them I saw those sharp pointy edges and couldn’t imagine having them in a house with kids. Then one day I was sitting on the front porch when I figured it out. I would use the cubes as bases to build an outdoor bench. Yeah!

So Jasper helped me paint the cubes green and we measured how much wood we would need to make the bench top. I ended up getting a bunch of 1 X 3’s because I didn’t want to have to cut anything. I sanded them, stained them and screwed them on to my cubes. I also added one board across the underneath the middle of the bench to add support. Then I covered the whole bench with an outdoor polyurethane.

photo-9

photo-11

photo-10

photo-12

This bench has been a great addition to our front porch. We have already entertained friends on it and when the weather is nice we are out on the porch more than we are in the living room!

One comment

  1. love it! looks like it came with the house!



Leave a Reply

