h1

make me pretty – kids table and chairs

January 20, 2010

Remember when I was telling you about my new obsession with kids furniture? Well here is another example. I promise my next project will be more adult but I fell in love with the lines of this table and chair set when I spotted it at the Salvation Army. How had someone not scooped this up already? This was a perfect excuse to find some adorable fabric and go crazy.

vintage kids table

I knew exactly where to find the perfect fabric for this piece. I had been drooling over all of the cute things at Umbrella Prints for a while. They make gorgeous hand screen printed fabrics. I chose an elephant print, bought some coordinating paint and got to work.

Here’s how it turned out.

Mode Podge and my Xacto knife are my two best friends. I am starting to feel like we can do anything together!

Do you like the elephants? Let me know what you think! And if you know the perfect little girl or boy for this table set check it out on Etsy.

Frankie was supervising my little photo shoot while soaking up some sun!

16 comments

  1. Those look awesome, nice find


  2. Wow that does look great- thanks for the tip off! 🙂


  3. Very COOL, both the colors and the minimal use of pattern. Did you use regular Mod Podge or the type made specifically for fabric? Any “tricks” for getting nice sharp edges on fabric? Many Thanks.


    • I use Mod Podge hard coat for furniture. It makes the fabric colors a tiny bit darker but it is very durable. I make a pattern out of paper then cut out the fabric with about 1/4″ extra around the edges. After a couple coats of Mod Podge on top I cut away the excess fabric with an Xacto knife. The Mod Podge makes the fabric more stiff and it is easier to cut. I know this may sound crazy but it works for me. When I try to cut the fabric to the exact size before I put it on I have a hard time getting it exactly lined up, especially because the fabric usually stretches a bit.


  4. This is adorable!! I love elephants 🙂 I also love how you use fabric on wood furniture; I bought some way cool fabric to put on my kids’ train table several weeks ago, and was wondering exactly how I was going to do it…now I know! Thank you!!


    • that’s really cool cara! i have a little boy who is obsessed with trains! you should email me a picture of your project when you are done – I would love to see it! darlingoctopus@gmail.com


  5. So SO fabulous! I love.


  6. Awesome!


  7. Just visiting via modpodgerocks.blogspot.com. I LOVE this furniture set. It is so adorable. What kind of paint did you use? Did you have to sand it down first or anything before you painted it? Good work!


    • Thanks! I sanded the furniture first. Then I painted it with primer. I use interior latex paint, semi gloss, and then cover the whole thing with rub-on polyurethane to seal and protect the paint.


  8. What a wonderful and fun transformation! Love that print!


  9. OMG that is darling. Great job. I looks like something from a high end modern boutique. Awesome.


  10. OH MY GOSH! That is so, so, so stinking cute. I love it. What great vision you have. I can’t wait to look around your blog and be inspired further.
    Greta


  11. Wow! What a transformation! I feel totally inspired! Plus I’m excited to check out that fabric shop! I’ve been trying to find some good prints for some other projects I have in mind!


  12. […] on my list because their hand screen printed fabrics are amazing. I used their elephant fabric on this kids table and chairs and I am still in love with it! purlsoho – This website is a great resource for all things […]


  13. […] into bright and cheery ones. Karen also uses Mod Podge, and you know how I feel about that. Visit here to see the set before the jump, and then look around and enjoy – her blog is a cornucopia […]



Leave a comment