h1

make me pretty – spray paint power

March 23, 2011

I am not very good with spray paint – I get drips and light spots and setting up the drop cloth outside, or in the garage, is just a pain in the butt. Sometimes, though, it is just the right tool for the job. Here are three projects I recently completed that really wanted to be spray painted.

I found these cute plastic vintage frames at the thrift shop. I loved their shape but wasn’t really into the fake wood brown color.


But wouldn’t they be cute painted yellow? Especially against my gray living room walls with some black and white pictures of my cuties!

I want to spray paint everything yellow but I decided to branch out and try a pretty turquoise color on this ornate gold mirror.


After Frankie the Pug gave these bamboo plant pots his approval I spray painted them yellow on the outside and blue on the inside. After adding a couple pretty plants my yard is looking pretty happy!

If you decide to get crazy with the spray paint be patient and do several light coats. Also, wear a mask. That stuff is so stinky, even outside! But once you do one project I guarantee you are going to start looking for more stuff to paint. I could make that yellow, and that yellow, and that yellow!

11 comments

  1. I love the turquoise and yellow! The turquoise looks so much better with that mirror than the gold did.


  2. love the mirror!


  3. Yes! I have been picking up old frames in thrift stores for a while now for not much more than $1, the more ornate the better, and spray painting them to death. I have probably used that exact yellow on 3 frames already. It’s one of my favorite projects. You can make something look brand new for barely any money. I love that mirror, I think I will branch out to other objects now too!


    • it’s kind of addictive, right? when i picked up that gold mirror i think my husband might have thought i was crazy but a little paint and it’s pretty cool now!


  4. I am OBSESSED with the blue mirror! It is beyond gorgeous! Which store did you find it in?


    • I got it at the goodwill in Carytown. I hardly ever find anything there but I stop in there when we go for walks and occasionally I get lucky. Usually I think their stuff is overpriced but this mirror was a steal at $10!


  5. I’ve been on the hunt for a mirror like that to put in our guest bathroom. I have a major addition to spray paint, especially white 🙂


    • yes! almost everything looks better white!


    • i have actually never been in that store. i was afraid it would be one of those places i would want to buy everything so i have been avoiding it. i will have to check it out.


  6. Do you know the colors name and brand of the turquoise spray paint? That color is beautiful for a project I have in mind:)


    • It’s Rustoleum Satin Lagoon



Leave a comment